Playwright Gabriel Dean


Winner of 2011 Kenedy Center ACTF Ken Ludwig Playwriting Scholarship Announced

The 2011 Ken Ludwig Playwriting Scholarship, given annually as part of the Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival, was awarded to Gabriel Dean. A graduate student in Playwriting at the James A. Michener Center for Writers at the University of Texas at Austin, Gabriel was represented at the Festival by two plays, Down the Mountain and Qualities of Starlight.

Click here for more information on Gabriel Dean and his plays.

The inaugural recipient of the 2009 Ken Ludwig Scholarship is Christian Krauspe of Arizona State University.

About the Ken Ludwig Playwriting Scholarship
The Ken Ludwig Playwriting Scholarship is designed to reward a playwright's continuing body of work, not one specific play. It is a scholarship award, and therefore the recipient must be a student in a graduate or undergraduate program for the upcoming year.
• The individual must be a current undergraduate student or within two years after graduation with an undergraduate degree. As this is a scholarship award, he/she must be a currently enrolled student or planning to enroll in a graduate theatre or writing program in the following year.
• The individual must submit a letter from a faculty member nominating the student and attesting to his/her student enrollment status.
• The individual must represent a school that has a KCACTF associate or participating entry.
A school may have more than one representative.

The prize will be awarded based on a playwright's body of work. As evidence of that body of work, the writer should submit:
• A resume of their writing and production history.
• Three plays. One of those plays must be at least sixty minutes in length. Plays should be submitted with Title Page but no other identification of author or school.
• A KCACTF Cover Sheet for each submitted play providing author and script information.
• Submission deadline is February 1st.
• The National Playwriting Program will establish a screening committee each year to read submitted work.
• The work of up to five writers will become finalists, and that work will be reviewed by a professional playwright provided by the National Playwriting Program and the Artistic Director of KCACTF.
• All evaluation will be done with blind readings that do not include the author's name, address or school.

Tell a Friend

Contact Information
Return to the Home Page